A section for suggested Objects of Greenwich - with links to external sources, references and commentary.
Sculptor John Flaxman proposed this massive statue of Britannia for the top of Observatory Hill. Brigid von Preussen wrote that Flaxmans sculpture revealed "sculptures ...centrality to the enduring collective fantasy of British naval dominance and imperial power from the eighteenth century to the present."
Gun manufacturer Blakeley leased a wharf from Morden College 1865 (Close to footprint of the 21st Century Hotel Inter-Continental). Although he supplied guns and cannons to many countries he ran into financial problems. See Mary Mills web site for more details.
A tradition started in early 21st century. White or "Ghost Bikes" have been placed by cyclists and bereaved families as Memorials wherever a cyclist has been killed by goods vehicle,van or car.
John Beale of Blackheath invented this version of the popular "Penny farthing" bike "A splendid hill climber" With front wheel diameter of 42in (1.07m) and rear wheel 23in (0.58m). Courtesy Museum of Liverpool
This Memorial - sits between the Pilot pub and John Harrison Way. The inscription over the list of names reads ‘TO THE GLORY OF GOD AND THE GRATEFUL MEMORY OF THOSE EMPLOYEES OF THE SOUTH METROPOLITAN GAS COMPANY ATTACHED TO EAST GREENWICH, PHOENIX WHARF AND ORDNANCE WHARF WORKS, WHO, IN RESPONSE TO THE CALL OF THEIR KING AND COUNTRY, SACRIFICED THEIR LIVES DURING THE GREAT WAR.” (ref Mary Mills - see web site)
Market Stall in Tyler Street East Greenwich. In 1919 Charles Lewis established the first Coach company in London. Lewis Coaches is still operating 100 years later.
Daughter of King Alfred, Princess Elstrudis with her husband Count Baldwin of Flanders. When she died c.918 she left Lewisham Priory which included land in Greenwich and Woolwich, to St Peters Abbey,Ghent. They ran Lewisham Priory and a tidal mill in Greenwich until expelled in late C14th